On 17 March, Axios and others reported that the Secretary of State had announced sanctions on 24 more Chinese and Hong Kong officials.  Among the names are Tam Yiu-chung, the Hong Kong congressional delegate who drafted the National Security Law.  The new designations were posted by OFAC on 17 March.  Meanwhile, on 16 March, a news release from the State Department listed the 24 names, as an update to its October 2020 report to Congress under the Hong Kong Autonomy Act (HKAA), which had listed 10 persons that the Secretary of State, in consultation with the Secretary of the Treasury, had determined were materially contributing to, have materially contributed to, or attempted to materially contribute to the failure of China to meet its obligations under the Sino – British Joint Declaration or Hong Kong’s Basic Law,

If you would like to make a modest contribution for my time and ongoing expenses, I have a page, where contributions start as low as $3, at

Author: raytodd2017

Chartered Legal Executive and former senior manager with Isle of Man Customs and Excise, where I was (amongst other things) Sanctions Officer (for UN/EU sanctions), Export Licensing Officer and Manager of the Legal-Library & Collectorate Support Section

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: