On 1st June, Defence Web reported that the UN Security Council voted to renew some sanctions on South Sudan to 15th July and consider imposing travel bans and asset freezes on 6 South Sudanese leaders if the country’s conflict does not stop by June 30th.  The Resolution said absent a cessation of hostilities by June 30th, the Council would consider freezing the assets and banning travel for 6 officials, including Defence Minister Kuol Manyang Juuk, former army chief Paul Malong, Minister of Information Michael Lueth and deputy chief of defence for logistics in the South Sudan Army Malek Reuben Riak Rengu.  It also targeted Koang Rambang, governor of Bieh State, who the US accused of leading military attacks and obstructing aid to civilians; and cabinet affairs minister Martin Elia Lomuro. The Resolution was UN SCR 2148.


Author: raytodd2017

Chartered Legal Executive and former senior manager with Isle of Man Customs and Excise, where I was (amongst other things) Sanctions Officer (for UN/EU sanctions), Export Licensing Officer and Manager of the Legal-Library & Collectorate Support Section

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: